[5E] Earthling (Background)

I’m going to branch out to publishing fifth edition D&D material under Creative Commons licences, mostly because I’ve created some and I don’t know where else to put it.

This work is under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International licence. Release 1.

The entirety of this work is released as open game content under the Open Game License 1.0.

Section 15

  • Earthling, Chris Sakkas 2015

The Earthling

A stranger in a strange land, met with much that is peculiar but some that is familiar.

Skill Proficiencies: Medicine, Nature

Tool Proficiencies: Future device (see below) and gaming set (Dungeon World)

Equipment: A set of modern clothes, wallet containing a photo of home, a future device.

The future device has the functionality of two tools. Examples include: penknife with compass in the hilt (navigator’s tools, thieves’ tools); portable scanner/printer (forgery kit, calligrapher’s supplies); chemist’s kit (poisoner’s kit, herbalism kit); 4WD with sat nav (vehicle [land], navigator’s tools).

How did you get here?

d8 Method

1

Astrally projected

2

Awoke from a dream

3

Launched an experimental spacecraft

4

Touched a black monolith

5

Was cursed by a fortune teller

6

Read a verse in a book with a skull on the cover

7

Said “let’s get out of here” while polishing a lamp

8

Stumbled out of a stasis chamber

Names

Male: Abe, Adam, Aladdin, Antonio, Flash, John, Lee, Ram, Randolph, Ulysses, Wedge.

Female: Agrippa, Amitola, Artemis, Delilah, Eve, Lina, Lynn, Niharika, Sita, Tara, Traci.

Surname: Abu Bakr, Afamasaga, Baruch, Carter, Crow, Freud, Gordon, Huang, Kobayashi, Liang, Links, Lords, Nabiyev, Papadopoulos, Paxton, Powell, Sabato, Smith, Strange, Wolf, Zhang.

Feature: Man (or Woman) out of Time

Your foreignness means that your gaffs and breaches of social norms are laughed off or excused instead of being punished. People come from far around to hear you talk, even if they cannot understand you through the accent.

Suggested Characteristics

An Earthling could come from any one of a number of cultures and countries, but most are in a state of culture shock – at least until they settle in.

d8 Personality trait

1

I make pop culture references that no one else understands.

2

I am melancholic and distracted.

3

I am excited by the scientific possibilities this planet presents.

4

I am convinced that this is all a dream.

5

I wish that I had magic powers.

6

I put on a faux medieval accent.

7

I try to display the manners and courtesy of my home state.

8

I enthusiastically compare everything to the fiction I read back home.
d6 Ideal

1

Honour. Bravery and gentility are universal virtues, as true here as anywhere. (Lawful)

2

Faith. This is a land like none other, but I will honour my God and continue to obey His will. (Any)

3

Knowledge. I must learn everything that I can about this extraordinary place. (Neutral)

4

Adventure. I am going to have a thrilling time of it. (Chaotic)

5

Second Chances. I will do better this time, and afford others the same chance. (Good)

6

> Progress. There is much that could be done to make this place better. (Good)
d6 Bond

1

I think a wizard in a distant city can help me.

2

I brought a pet with me.

3

I am blood brother (or sister) of a warrior in this place.

4

There is someone here that I dreamed of every night before I was transported.

5

I owe my life to the first person who I met here.

6

The first person I met here stole something that I need to get back home.
d6 Flaw
1 I pine for home and unfavourably compare everyone to friends and family back home.
2 Those I meet are savages in need of civilising.
3 I am obsessed with getting back home.
4 I look at everything here through rose-coloured glasses.
5 I am convinced that all the magic I see is sufficiently-advanced technology.
6 I am scared of everything here.

Earthling (PDF)

Earthling (ODT)

Leave a Reply

